DEADLINE: Makovsky Best Master’s Thesis Application

 April 15, 2018



To recognize and encourage graduate study and scholarship in public relations through an annual award for an outstanding Master's thesis. The winning thesis will be applicable to the public relations practice.

The winner receives a $2,000 grant. The winner's faculty advisor receives a $1,000 cash grant. The winner and advisor will each receive a complimentary ticket to attend the IPR Annual Distinguished Lecture & Awards Dinner, November 28, 2018. Makovsky will pay for travel and hotel arrangements for the winner only. The winner and faculty advisor will also be invited to attend the 2018 IPR Research Symposium, November 28, 2018. Application Deadline: April 15, 2018 Winner Notification: June 1, 2018 Criteria Entries are judged on their contribution to the advancement of research-based knowledge in the field of public relations and communications, and the degree to which the research is relevant or has an impact on the profession. The award is intended to honor a graduate student in a Master's program or a recent graduate for an outstanding thesis immediately applicable to the public relations practice (may be in related disciplines). Entries should test or develop theory within the public relations context; systematically test an applied public relations principle, case study or practice; analyze a legal, historical, or societal question in the field; or critically review an issue relevant to public relations practice, research and/or teaching. Entries should conform to scholarly study and legal research methods. Potential significance of the study and quality of the research methodology and written presentation are also judged. These should have applicability beyond the confines of a given campus. Rules A blind judging procedure is followed.
  • Application form must be completed online and submitted to
  • Since the judging is blind, it is important to include the final title of the thesis or project in the application form, and that same title in the paper. The paper should not contain any reference to the author’s name, the advisor’s name, the educational institution or other identifiable information. Leaving such identification visible in the thesis will be grounds for disqualification.
  • The thesis or written project must be written in English language, submitted in a single PDF-formatted document via email to Sarah Jackson at
  • IMPORTANT: Include an executive summary of your thesis or project, written in English, as a separate electronic file. Judges rely heavily on the executive summary in first-round judging. The summary should provide a synopsis of the work and may not exceed 1,000 words. The executive summary should not contain any reference to the author’s name, the advisor’s name, the educational institution or other identifiable information. Leaving such identification visible in the executive summary will be grounds for disqualification.
  • The thesis must be authored as part of a Master’s degree (i.e., MA, MS, MBA, MJ, MPR, etc.) awarded by an accredited college or university. It must be a new thesis, started in 2017-2018. It must be written and completed in the agreed upon time frame.
  • The winner will also write a blog for IPR, summarizing the results of the thesis and its practical implications.
  • The thesis must by authored by one student. Group papers or projects are not allowed.
  • A letter of endorsement from a public relations faculty member of the student’s school attesting to the eligibility and qualifications of the entry must be included in the application packet. This letter must also be submitted electronically by the deadline, April 15, 2018, but in a separate file from the actual thesis or project.
  • All entries become the property of the Institute for Public Relations and cannot be returned. By entering the competition, you grant the Institute permission to publish the case on its website and through any other means. The Research Journal of the Institute for Public Relations will receive the right of first refusal for the paper.
Judging The panel of judges includes representatives from the Institute for Public Relations and the Public Relations Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC).


2018 Makovsky Best Master's Application Address for Submission Master's Thesis Award The Institute for Public Relations University of Florida PO Box 118400 Gainesville, FL 32611-8400

Past Winners

[whistles type="toggle" group="best-masters-thesis-award-winners" order="DESC" orderby="date" limit="-1"]