The Institute for Public Relations announced today the election of a new Class of Trustees as well as officers of the Board for 2011.

Mike. Fernandez, Corporate Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Cargill, and Matthew Gonring, Vice President, Communications, Pactiv, were re-elected co-chairs of the Institute’s Board of Trustees. Kenneth Makovsky, President, Makovsky and Company, was re-elected Treasurer, and Robert W. Grupp was re-elected Institute President and CEO. Institute officers serve one-year terms that began January 1, 2011.

The Institute for Public Relations is an independent non-profit foundation headquartered at the University of Florida.

“Trustees are chosen for their leadership, for their insight and positive impact on public relations education and practice,” said Matthew Gonring, Board co-chair. “Our trustees are an extraordinary strategic asset as we build, document and mainstream the intellectual foundations of our profession.”

Trustees re-elected to three-year terms are: Amy Binder, RF Binder; Mike Fernandez, Cargill; Rob Flaherty, Ketchum; Rich Jernstedt, Fleishman-Hillard; Ray Jordan, Johnson & Johnson; Doug Pinkham, Public Affairs Council; Wendi Strong, USAA.

Mike Fernandez added: “Our Board is an impressive team of top minds from business and education who guide the Institute in its pursuit of research studies and best practices that demonstrate and enhance the value of public relations. These are people who have long concerned themselves with the science beneath the art of our profession.”

A complete list of Institute Trustees can be found at

About the Institute for Public Relations
IPR is an independent non-profit foundation that answers the need for evidence and accountability in public relations. IPR plays a critical role in bridging the academic world with the profession to ensure that the best thinking and knowledge are applied for the benefit of today’s demanding business world.

More information can be found at

Heidy Modarelli handles Growth & Marketing for IPR. She has previously written for Entrepreneur, TechCrunch, The Next Web, and VentureBeat.
Follow on Twitter